

Minutes - Final

Active Transportation and Sustainability Committee

Tuesday, March 19, 2019	3:30 PM	Sir Robert Barrie Room

For consideration at the City Building Committee on May 14, 2019.

The meeting was called to order by J. Carswell, Deputy City Clerk at 3:34 p.m. The following were in attendance for the meeting:

Present:	8 -	Councillor K. Aylwin Councillor S. Morales	
		A. Carlyle	
		S. Diaz - SMDHU	
		E. Jacoby-Hawkins	
		A. McNair - Nature Barrie	
		Chairman R. Meier	
		T. Searls	
Absent:	1 -	J. Northcote	

STAFF: Committee Support Clerk, T. McArthur Deputy City Clerk, J. Carswell.

The Active Transportation and Sustainability Committee met and reports as follows:

PRESENTATION - ORIENTATION FOR COMMITTEES

J. Carswell, Deputy City Clerk provided a presentation concerning an orientation for the 2018-2022 Active Transportation and Sustainability Committee members.

Mr. Carswell discussed the following topics:

- Council and Committee Code of Conduct;
- Municipal Conflict of Interest Act;
- City of Barrie Procedural By-law;
- Public Notice Accountability and Transparency;
- Meeting Procedures;
- Chair, Committee and Staff Responsibilities;
- Decision Making Process;
- Reporting Structure for the Active Transportation and Sustainability Committee;
- Terms of Reference for the Active Transportation and Sustainability Committee; and
- Understanding Accessible Customer Service.

Members of the Committee asked a number of questions related to the presentation and received responses.

SELECTION OF CHAIR

The Committee discussed the selection of the Chair and Vice-Chair for the 2018-2022 Term of Council. The Committee agreed to appoint R. Meier as the Chair and Councillor, K. Alywin as the Vice-Chair of the Committee.

MEETING SCHEDULE

The Committee discussed the meeting schedule for the 2018-2022 Term of Council. The Committee agreed to schedule the Communities in Bloom Committee meetings on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 9:30 a.m., excluding the months of July and August.

The meeting adjourned at 5:04 p.m.

CHAIRMAN